The Herald of Everett, Washington
Customer service  |  Subscribe   |   Log in or sign up   |   Advertising information   |   Contact us
HeraldNet on Facebook HeraldNet on Twitter HeraldNet RSS feeds HeraldNet Pinterest HeraldNet Google Plus The Daily Herald on Linked In HeraldNet Youtube
HeraldNet Newsletters  Newsletters: Sign up  Green editions icon Green editions

Time to pick NBA awards

SHARE: facebook Twitter icon Linkedin icon Google+ icon Email icon |  PRINTER-FRIENDLY
By Jeffrey Tomik
The Washington Post
The NBA playoffs start this weekend, but the most important games of the year wonít affect who wins this seasonís awards. Even though the winners wonít be announced until next month, the voting is in. Hereís who we predict will bring home the hardware ó and who deserves to.
Who will win: Kevin Durant. The Thunder forward put together one of the most impressive scoring seasons in NBA history. For 41 consecutive games, he had at least 25 points. Only Oscar Robertson and Wilt Chamberlain had longer such streaks.
Who should win: LeBron James. Heís still the best player in the league and his out-of-this-world abilities are taken for granted. He shot a career-best 56.7 percent from the floor ó fourth-best in the league in a category dominated by post players who only dunk.
Defensive Player of Year
Who will win: Joakim Noah. The Bulls have held their opponents to an NBA-low 91.8 points per game, and Noah has anchored that defensive unit. The center has averaged a career-high 7.7 defensive rebounds a game and will likely also finish in the top five in MVP voting.
Who should win: Noah. Heís worthy of the award, but perimeter defenders like Paul George too often get overlooked despite a much tougher nightly defensive assignment.
Sixth Man of the Year
Who will win: Taj Gibson. Noah gets most of the credit on the Bulls frontline and Carlos Boozer is the starting power forward, but Chicago turns to Gibson down the stretch of games. Heís averaged 13.1 points and played in every game this year.
Who should win: Manu Ginobili. The Spurs donít have a single player averaging 30 minutes a game. And coach Gregg Popovichís innovative rotation has limited Ginobiliís playing time, but heís still managed to average 12.4 points and 4.3 assists a game.
Coach of the Year
Who will win: Tom Thibodeau. Chicagoís leading scorer has been D.J. Augustin ó whoís probably the 30th best point guard in the league ó and the Bulls are a top four team in the East. Despite Derrick Roseís injury and trading away Luol Deng, they keep winning. Thatís impressive.
Who should win: Gregg Popovich. He should probably win every year. The Spurs own the best record and no one gets more out of his players than Popovich. Marco Belinelli, Patty Mills and Boris Diaw have played great for him.
Most Improved Player
Who will win: Goran Dragic. The Suns guard emerged as an MVP candidate after nearly leading Phoenix to the playoffs. Heís upped his scoring average from 14.7 in 2012-13 to 20.3 this season, while shooting over 50 percent from the field and over 40 percent from 3-point range.
Who should win: Dragic. Heís made an improbable jump to the elite level and deserves the award. Others who have a case are Anthony Davis, Lance Stephenson, Gerald Green and DeMar DeRozan.
Rookie of the Year
Who will win: Michael Carter-Williams. The 76ers point guard led all rookies in points, assists, rebounds and steals. Itís been one of the worst rookie classes in NBA history, but at least Carter-Williams has the stats to back up this award.
Who should win: Victor Oladipo. Letís keep in mind Carter-Williams put up those numbers on a 76ers team that tied an NBA record with 26 straight losses. The Magic werenít much better, but Oladipo played well on a competitive team.
Story tags » NBA

More Sports Headlines


Sports headlines

Top sports stories delivered daily