The Herald of Everett, Washington
Customer service  |  Subscribe   |   Log in or sign up   |   Advertising information   |   Contact us
HeraldNet on Facebook HeraldNet on Twitter HeraldNet RSS feeds HeraldNet Pinterest HeraldNet Google Plus The Daily Herald on Linked In HeraldNet Youtube
HeraldNet Newsletters  Newsletters: Sign up  Green editions icon Green editions
David Krueger and Herald staff |
Published: Friday, June 7, 2013, 1:10 p.m.

New football coaches around the state

With the hiring of Mike Don to replace Mark Stewart as Meadowdale's football head coach I thought it might be a good time to post this, courtesy David Maley.

Here's all the coaching changes that have occurred since the end of the season:

* If a new coach has (1st) next to his name, it is his first head coaching job in Washington.

Archbishop Murphy (2A)---New coach: Jerry Jensen (1st)
Former coaches: Roger Brodniak and Mike Pluschke (2012; last 7 games)

Auburn Riverside (4A)---New coach: Bryant Thomas (1st)
Former coach: Bob Morgan (2007-2012)

Black Hills (2A)---New coach: Dominic Yarrington (Tyee 1998; White River 1999-2002; Lindbergh 2006-2008; West Seattle 2011-2012)
Former coach: Jack Zilla (1998-2012)

Brewster (1A)---New coach: TBD
Former coach: Mike Don (2012)

Centralia (2A)---New coach: Matt Whitmire (Pe Ell 2000-2001; White Salmon 2005-2008)
Former coach: Steve Amrine (2011-2012)

Chelan (1A)---New coach: Travis Domser (1st)
Former coach: Darren Talley (2006-2012)

Cle Elum-Roslyn (1A)---New coach: Brian Avery (Kittitas 2012)
Former coach: Tony Kretschman (2010-2012)

Cleveland (3A)---New coach: Jeff Schmidt (1st)
Former coach: Ronn Jackson (2011-2012)

Eastlake (4A)---New coach: Don Bartel (Enumclaw 2008-2011)
Former coach: Pat Parnell (2012; last 7 games)

Evergreen (Vancouver) (4A)---New coach: Don Johnson Jr. (1st)
Former coach: Charles Anthony (2009-2012)

Fort Vancouver (3A)---New coach: Todd Quincey (Glendora and Northview, Calif. and Sandy, Ore.)
Former coach: Eric Ollikainen (2011-2012)

Foster (2A)---New coach: Matt Leonard (1st)
Former coach: Jim Sutrick (2009-2012)

Friday Harbor (1A)---New coach: Richard Ledford (Friday Harbor 2002-2007)
Former coach: Darrin Scheffer (2008-2012)

Garfield (Seattle) (4A)---New coach: Mark Stewart (Renton 1988-1990, 1998-1999; Garfield (Seattle) 1992-1993; Highline 1997; Meadowdale 2000-2012)
Former coach: David Myers (2011-2012)

Highline (3A)---New coach: Asosa Sailiai (Chief Sealth 2007-2011)
Former coach: Juan Cotto (2008-2012)

Hockinson (2A)---New coach: Brian Schott (1st)
Former coach: Rick Steele (2004-2012)

Hoquiam (1A)---New coach: TBD
Former coach: Jason Ronquillo (2007-2012)

Inglemoor (4A)---New coach: Daniel (D.J.) Baddeley (1st)
Former coach: Frank Naish (1979-2012)

Interlake (3A)---New coach: David Myers (Garfield (Seattle) 2011-2012)
Former coach: Jason Rimkus (2010-2012)

Kelso (3A)---New coach: Steve Amrine (Centralia 2011-2012)
Former coach: Pat Hymes (1996-2012)

Kittitas (B-11)---New coach: TBD
Former coach: Brian Avery (2012)

Lacrosse-Washtucna (B-8)---New coach: TBD
Former coach: Jeff A. Nelson (1994-2012)

LaSalle (1A)---New coach: Cody Lamb (1st)
Former coach: Jack McMillan (2004-2012)

Lindbergh (2A)---New coach: Matt Leamer (1st)
Former coach: Pat O’Grady (2009-2012)

Meadowdale (3A)---New coach: Mike Don (Brewster 2012, Lynnwood 2010-2012)
Former coach: Mark Stewart (2000-2012)

Northwest Christian (Colbert) (B-11)---New coach: Jim Nendel (1st)
First year of football

Olympic (2A)---New coach: TBD
Former coach: Brad Hamblet (2012)

Rainier (1A)---New coach: Terry Shaw (1st)
Former coach: Jeff Johnson (2008-2012)

Redmond (4A)---New coach: Jason Rimkus (Interlake 2010-2012)
Former coach: Jeff Chandler (2010-2012)

Rochester (1A)---New coach: TBD
Former coach: Chris Barnes (2012)

Rosalia (B-8)---New coach: Kaleb Madison (Tekoa-Oakesdale-Rosalia 2011-2012)
First year of football since 2002

Snohomish (4A)---New coach: Kai Smalley (1st)
Former coach: Mark Perry (1995-2012)

Springdale (B-11)---New coach: TBD
Former coach: Mark Edwards (2005-2012)

Tekoa-Oakesdale (B-8)---New coach: TBD
First year of football since 2002

Vashon Island (1A)---New coach: TBD
Former coach: Clay Eastly (2007-2012)

Wapato (2A)---New coach: Brian Hake (1st)
Former coach: Orson Christensen (2011-2012)

West Seattle (3A)---New coach: TBD
Former coach: Dominic Yarrington (2011-2012)

Wishkah Valley (B-8)---New coach: Mike Mitchell (1st)
Former coach: Brad Taylor Sr. (2007-2012)

Yelm (4A)---New coach: Jason Ronquillo (Hoquiam 2007-2012)
Former coach: Randy Swilley (2008-2012)

Like our high school sports page on Facebook, follow @HeraldNetPreps on Twitter and look for updates on our Prep Zone blog.

Story tags » Meadowdale High School Snohomish High SchoolArchbishop Thomas J. Murphy High SchoolHigh School Football

Subscribe to High school sports
See sample | Privacy policy

Most recent Prep Zone posts

HeraldNet Classifieds

HeraldNet highlights

A very slow invasion
A very slow invasion: Non-native snails take over the Northwest
Girls H.S. Athlete of the Year
Girls H.S. Athlete of the Year: Lynnwood High School three-sport star Mikayla Pivec
Boys H.S. Athlete of the Year
Boys H.S. Athlete of the Year: Lake Stevens High School quarterback Jacob Eason
In all its glory
In all its glory: The North Cascades on display at the Burke Museum