The Herald of Everett, Washington
Customer service  |  Subscribe   |   Log in or sign up   |   Advertising information   |   Contact us
HeraldNet on Facebook HeraldNet on Twitter HeraldNet RSS feeds HeraldNet Pinterest HeraldNet Google Plus The Daily Herald on Linked In HeraldNet Youtube
HeraldNet Newsletters  Newsletters: Sign up  Green editions icon Green editions

Prep wrestling: 2A Sub-Regional

SHARE: facebook Twitter icon Linkedin icon Google+ icon Email icon |  PRINTER-FRIENDLY
SULTAN -- Granite Falls' Ryan Nash and Tyler Groff each won individual championships as the Tigers took home overall team honors at the 2A Sub-Regional wrestling tournament on Saturday at Sultan High School.
Nash defeated Sammamish's Rathtana Duong to earn the 120-pound title, while the 126-pound Groff beat the Turks' James Mackenzie. The Tigers finished with 248.5 points, 26 more than second-place Sultan, and had 11 wrestlers finish in the top 4 to qualify for the 2A regional tournament.
The Turks had three first-place finishers, with Jason Barrus (152), Jake Naslund (182) and Taylor Comfort (220) winning their respective weight classes.
At Sultan H.S.
Team results: Granite Falls 248.5, Sultan 222.5, Cedarcrest 192, Lakewood 189.5, Lake Washington 125, Archbishop Murphy 124.5, Sammamish 117.
106--Bailey McBride (C) def. Login Corbin (GF); 113--Juan Quijada (Sam) def. Callen Martinez (C); 120--Ryan Nash (GF) def. Rathtana Duong (S); 126--Tyler Groff (GF) def. James Mackenzie (S); 132--Curtis Chittenden (C) def. Bryce MacDicken (S); 138--Ely Malametz (C) def. Benson Hull (LW); 145--Saul Del Rio (LW) def. Cameron Wheeler (L); 152--Jason Barrus (S) def. Nick Decker (C); 160--Carlos Toledano (C) def. Tommy Eadie (GF); 170--Jeff Harrison (L) def. James Boglivi (S); 182--Jake Naslund (S) def. Charlie Johnson (S); 195--Foster Wade (AM) def. Brandon Webb (S); 220--Taylor Comfort (S) def. Dakota Creed (AM); 285--Tristan Nelson (L) def. Andrey Ilnitsky (LW).
Other advancers (top 4 to regionals):106--3. Adam Gibson (GF), 4. Hayden Toon (LW);
113--3. Rickey Mueller (GF), 4. Cory Cooper (GF); 120--3. Arlyss Jenkins (GF), 5. Johnny McKamee (LW); 126--3. Collin Farrell (AM), 4. Tristen Larsen (GF); 132--3. Tim Kozemzak (AM), 4. Tristen Daniels (GF); 138--3. Drake Mosteller (LW), 4. Riley Hansen (GF); 145--3. Tysen Campbell (GF), 4. Ryan Sharp (S); 152--3. Chris Del Rio (LW), 4. Jeremy Peterson (L); 160--3. Gage Gilbertson (L), 4. Andrew Shaffer (AM); 170--3. Tomas Narvaja (S), 4. James Tate (S); 182--3. Max Hummer (S), 4. Elliot Dick (AM); 195--3. James Giorgio (L), 4. Matt Baller (S); 220--3. Jake Johnson (S), 4. Eui Jeong (AM); 285--3. Devin Jackson (L).
Story tags » High School Wrestling

More High Schools Headlines


Prep sports headlines

High school sports headlines