The Herald of Everett, Washington
Customer service  |  Subscribe   |   Log in or sign up   |   Advertising information   |   Contact us
HeraldNet on Facebook HeraldNet on Twitter HeraldNet RSS feeds HeraldNet Pinterest HeraldNet Google Plus The Daily Herald on Linked In HeraldNet Youtube
HeraldNet Newsletters  Newsletters: Sign up  Green editions icon Green editions
David Krueger and Herald staff |
Published: Wednesday, June 27, 2012, 5:20 p.m.

Darrington Hall of Fame announces next class

The Darrington Hall of Fame Committee has selected a group of people and one group to be inducted into the 2012 Darrington High School Athletic Hall of Fame.

The inductee ceremony will be Saturday, Nov. 17 at Darrington High School at 6:30 p.m. The public is invited and encouraged to attend.

Archie Van Winkle, one of the inductees, joined the Marines, earning 19 medals and citations, including the Congressional Medal of Honor given to him by President Harry S. Truman. He also fought in three wars: WWII, Korean and Vietnam.

Here's the list of inductees:

Dan O'Malley (Coached high school football, JV baseball, softball, track and field, middle school volleyball and basketball).

School/Community Supporters
Beryl and Rita Mauldin for their significant support and leadership of students and coaches for over 30 years.

Boys Athletes
Kevin Ashe (football, basketball, baseball); Gary Black (football, basketball, baseball); Ivor Hogland (football, basketball, baseball); Verner Hogland (basketball, baseball); Roger Jones (football, basketball, baseball); Doug Lenker (football, basketball, baseball); Archie Van Winkle (football, boxing, basketball, baseball)

Girl Athletes
Lindsay Boyd (volleyball, basketball, softball); Susan Howard (volleyball, basketball, softball, track); Rhonda Mathis (volleyball, basketball, softball); Tina Mathis (volleyball, basketball, softball, track); Carolyn Nysether (tennis, basketball, cheerleading, drill); Tracy Robinson (volleyball, basketball, softball); Heidi Wright (tennis, basketball, cheerleading, drill).

1981 Boys Baseball State "B" Champions (Players: Joe Abrahamson, Jeff Bryson, Gary Jones, Steve Jones, John Julian, Don Korr, Doug Lenker, John Morgan, Kenny Nations, Danny O'Malley, Duane Paul, Blake Pennington, Fate Shuler, Kevin Tollenaar, Ken Terhaar; Coach: Nancy Snyder; Manager: Grant Terhaar; Scorekeeper: Judy Shanahan; Bus Driver: Shirley Lewis)

Like our high school sports page on Facebook, follow @HeraldNetPreps on Twitter and look for updates on our Prep Zone blog.

Story tags » Darrington High/Middle School

Subscribe to High school sports
See sample | Privacy policy

Most recent Prep Zone posts

» More high schools
HeraldNet Classifieds

HeraldNet highlights

A very slow invasion
A very slow invasion: Non-native snails take over the Northwest
Girls H.S. Athlete of the Year
Girls H.S. Athlete of the Year: Lynnwood High School three-sport star Mikayla Pivec
Boys H.S. Athlete of the Year
Boys H.S. Athlete of the Year: Lake Stevens High School quarterback Jacob Eason
In all its glory
In all its glory: The North Cascades on display at the Burke Museum