The Herald of Everett, Washington
Customer service  |  Subscribe   |   Log in or sign up   |   Advertising information   |   Contact us
HeraldNet on Facebook HeraldNet on Twitter HeraldNet RSS feeds HeraldNet Pinterest HeraldNet Google Plus The Daily Herald on Linked In HeraldNet Youtube
HeraldNet Newsletters  Newsletters: Sign up  Green editions icon Green editions
David Krueger and Herald staff |
Published: Tuesday, June 19, 2012, 6:11 p.m.

MaVorhis named 2A Player of the Year; All-State teams announced

Whether it was with his arm or his bat, Levi MaVorhis was a big part of the Archbishop Murphy baseball team's run to its first Class 2A state baseball title.

Tuesday he was rewarded for his efforts.

MaVorhis was named the Class 2A Baseball Player of the Year by the Washington State Baseball Coaches Association, which also announced its 2012 All-State teams. MaVorhis was joined on the 2A first team by teammate Trever Morrison.

"I was really surprised," MaVorhis said. "I know there were a lot of great players that played at the 2A level this year, so it was really a big honor."

Archbishop Murphy third baseman Eric Lawson and Lakewood infielder Alex Keen made the 2A second team.

In 4A, Lake Stevens teammates Dylan LaVelle and Anthony Blackie were named to the first team along with Kamiak outfielder Jacob Bettencourt and Jackson outfielder Sam Brown. Edmonds-Woodway's Ben Roquet, Marysville Pilchuck's Brandon Dormaier and Jackson's Joakim Soderqvist On the 4A second team.

Two local players -- Mountlake Terrace's Alex Hatch and Shorecrest's Ted Hammond -- were selected to the 3A first team. Hatch's teammate Austin Johnson and Meadowdale's Matt Hirsch made the 3A second team.

Here's a look at the teams:


Player of the Year: Reece McGuire, Kentwood
Coach of the Year: Mark Zender, Kentwood

First Team
UTL CJ Gettman, Wenatchee, 12
P Michael Rucker, Auburn Riverside, 12
C Clint Coulter, Union, 12
P Dustin Driver, Wenatchee, 11
P Peter Hendron, Redmond, 12
P Mason Hilty, Richland, 11
C Reese McGuire, Kentwood, 11
INF Michael Nelson, South Kitsap, 12
P Brandon Mahovlich, Issaquah, 12
P/INF Dylan LaVelle, Lake Stevens, 12
INF Cabe Reiten, Olympia, 12
P Travis Key, Ferris, 12
INF Cole Buruse, Skyview, 12
P Anthony Blackie, Lake Stevens, 12
OF Jacob Bettencourt, Kamiak, 11
P John Bodenhamer, Tahoma, 12
OF Sam Brown, Jackson, 12
P/OF Matt Becker, Puyallup, 12
P Nick Sagendorf, Mead, 12
INF Brett Oyer, Todd Beamer, 12

Second Team
INF Lavante Allen, A.C. Davis, 12
Elliott Sage, Moses Lake, 11
OF Zach Naon, Roosevelt, 12
INF Willie Augastavo, Inglemoor, 11
INF Shea Donlan, Woodinville, 12
OF Alec Cheney, Skyview, 10
INF Ian Humphrey, Battle Ground, 12
P Ian Hamilton, Skyview, 11
OF Vince Sablan, South Kitsap, 12
P Taylor Jones, Kentwood, 12
INF Ben Roquet, Edmonds-Woodway, 12
INF Evan Peterson, Puyallup, 12
C Jimmy Sinatro, Skyline, 12
INF Joe Wainhouse, Kentridge, 10
P Caleb Jaeger, Ballard, 12
C Corey Morris, Richland, 12
INF Brandon Dormaier, Marysville Pilchuck, 12
INF Sheldon Stober, Kentridge, 12
OF Joakim Soderqvist, Henry Jackson, 11


Player of the Year: Trek Stemp, Kennewick
Coach of the Year: Ryan Carter, Kaimiakin

First Team
P Eli Fultz, Bremerton, 11
INF Jake Schroeder, Ferndale, 12
P Alex Foley, Eastside Catholic, 11
C Austin Barr, Camas, 12
INF Aaron Stroosma, Sedro Woolley, 12
P Alex Hatch, Mountlake Terrace, 12
P Ted Hammond, Shorecrest, 12
INF Ryan Tydingco, Timberline, 12
P Nate Potterf, Bonney Lake, 12
P Chris McDowell, Mt. Vernon, 12
P Stetson Plew, Kennewick, 12
OF Jonny Locher, Highline, 12
P Jesse Houser, Kiamiakin, 12
INF Nick Pribble, Eastside Catholic, 12
INF Drew Oord, Kiamiakin, 12
INF Trek Stemp, Kennewick, 12
P Zach Torson, Mountain View, 12
OF Slate Miller, Kelso, 12
OF Theo Alexander, Lake Washington, 12
P Trevor Lane, Mt. Si, 12

Second Team
INF Shane Servoss, Mt. Vernon, 12
INF Austin Sprague, Ferndale, 11
INF Matt Hirsch, Meadowdale, 12
INF Ryan Neal, Hanford, 11
P Sam Hellinger, West Seattle, 11
INF Colin Serkowski, Hanford, 12
P Chris Hunter, Auburn Mountainview, 12
P Conner O'Neil, Southridge, 11
INF Buck Hale, Hudson's Bay, 12
P Riley O'Dell, Mountain View, 12
UTL Clark Bryant, Columbia River, 11
P Zach Johnson, Lake Washington, 12
INF Connor Rusch, Juanita, 11
OF/C Austin Johnson, Mountlake Terrace, 12
P Kenzy Forler, Capital, 12
P Charlie Hinson, Timberline, 12
P Nick Bettinson, Shadle Park, 12
P Andrew Mattingly, Peninsula, 12
P Joey Gamache, Bonney Lake, 12


Player of the Year: Levi Mavorhis, Archbishop Murphy
Coach of the Year: Mike Williams, White River

First Team
P Levi Mavorhis, Archbishop Murphy, 12
INF Easton Napiontek, Port Angeles, 12
OF Walker Olis, Burlington-Edison, 12
OF Luke Christianson, Lynden, 11
P Mitch Gueller, WF West, 12
OF Josh Snider, Ephrata, 12
OF Kurt Linderman, Selah, 12
OF Andrew Pullin, Centralia, 12
SS Trever Morrison, Archbishop Murphy, 11
INF Michael Wyatt, Ellensburg, 12
P Jeremy Alderman, Cheney, 12
OF Shane Matheny, Olympic, 10
P/INF Seth Pedersen, Mark Morris, 10
INF Brock Carpenter, Fife, 11

Second Team
P Jordan Kreider, Lynden, 12
INF Hunter Hanson, East Valley Yakima, 11
INF Dave Garza, Othello, 11
OF JT Nettleton, North Kitsap, 10
INF Dalton Schwetz, Burlington-Edison, 11
INF Nate Reece, North Kitsap, 12
INF Matt Meyer, Lynden, 11
OF Josh McLeod, Kingston, 12
OF Cody Culp, Anacortes, 12
3B Eric Lawson, Archbishop Murphy, 12
C Tyler Campbell, Sequim, 12
INF Zach Larson, Aberdeen, 12
P Austin Strother, Interlake, 11
INF Alex Keen, Lakewood, 12
INF Tanner Williams, White River, 11

Subscribe to High school sports
See sample | Privacy policy

Most recent Prep Zone posts

HeraldNet Classifieds

HeraldNet highlights

A very slow invasion
A very slow invasion: Non-native snails take over the Northwest
Girls H.S. Athlete of the Year
Girls H.S. Athlete of the Year: Lynnwood High School three-sport star Mikayla Pivec
Boys H.S. Athlete of the Year
Boys H.S. Athlete of the Year: Lake Stevens High School quarterback Jacob Eason
In all its glory
In all its glory: The North Cascades on display at the Burke Museum